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HB 2502 proposes to enact a new income tax credit of up to $1000 for classroom expenses and
teacher certification fees incurred by a classroom teacher in a common school, Classroom teacher
means a person certified by the State Department of Education who at the time of the expenditure for
an eligible classroom item was actively engaged in performing classroom instruction or who
reasonably anticipates being engaged in performing classroom instruction in any grade from pre-
kindergarten through twelfth grade in any common school of the state, This credit is effective for tax
year 2020 and subsequent tax years.

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2020
REVENUE IMPACT:

Insert dollar amount (plus or minus) of the expected change in state revenues due to this
proposed legislation.

FY 20: -0-
FY 21: Projected decease of $51.1 million in income tax revenue.
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The estimated revenue impact provided herein is an estimate of the potential impact on the
collection or apportionment of tax revenues affected by the proposed legislation. It is not intended
to be an estimate of the overall fiscal impact on the state budget if the proposed legislation is
enacted.



ATTACHMENT TO REVENUE IMPACT - HB 2502 [Engrossed|Prepared: March 26,2019

HB 2502 proposes to enact a new income tax credit of up to $1000 for classroom expenses and
teacher certification fees incurred by a classroom teacher in a common school®, Classroom teacher
means a person certified by the State Department of Education who at the time of the expenditure for
an eligible classroom item was actively engaged in performing classroom instruction or who
reasonably anticipates being engaged in performing classroom instruction in any grade from pre-
kindergarten through twelfth grade in any common school of the state, This credit is effective for tax
year 2020 and subsequent tax yeats.

An analysis of data obtained from the Oklahoma State Department of Education® indicates that an
estimated 50,593 public school* teachers could be eligible for the credit. Eligible classroom expenses
are defined as amounts purchased and includes paper, pencils, pens, erasers, safety scissors, glue,
glue sticks, adhesive tapes, crayons, colored pencils, colored markers, construction paper, poster
board, arts and crafts supplies, notebooks, rulers, protractors, and similar supplies used and useful in
a classroom’ for providing instruction to students. Eligible teacher certification fee is the fee imposed
pursuant to the provisions of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes or an administrative rule of the State
Department of Education required to be paid in order to ebtain or maintain the ability to provide
classroom instruction in a public school of this state.

For purposes of this analysis, it is assumed that all eligible public school teachers would avail
themselves of the maximum amount of the credit. This results in a potential decrease in income tax
collections of at least $51.1 million for tax year 2020. No changes in withholding or estimated tax
payments are anticipated. An estimated revenue decrease of $51.1 million is expected in FY21 when
the 2020 income tax returns are filed.

! The credit is up to $2,000 for those filing a joint returs.

2 vCommon school" is not defined.

3 Oklahoma State Department of Education - Accreditation Standards and School Personnel Records Division
2018-2019 Certified Personnel Report on Prafessional Staff Distribution by Job

*1t is unclear whether this credit is available to teachers in private schools.

* Single items of tangible personal property with a retail sales price in excess of $100 do not qualify for the credit.




